# SNS HFIR User Group (SHUG) Executive Committee Minutes Archived at <a href="http://neutrons.ornl.gov/users/shug">http://neutrons.ornl.gov/users/shug</a>

Teleconference held November 1, 2013, 1:00pm EST. Present

- Executive Committee: Tyrel McQueen (chair), Dave Belanger, Hanno zur Loye, Yan Gao, Brad Lokitz, Claire White, Robert McKenna
- Guests: Paul Langan, Laura Morris Edwards, Al Ekkebus, Mike Simonson, Thomas Proffen

### Absent

• Executive Committee: Yang Zhang, Greg Beaucage, Morten Eskildsen, and Andrea Marchinkova

Minutes submitted for review by B. Lokitz.

## ATTACHMENTS and WEBSITES of interest from the teleconference:

No attachments

### **AGENDA**

- 1. Roll call
- 2. Approval of minutes from October meeting
- 3. Approval of current agenda
- 4. Action items from October meeting Science Plan
- 5. Updates
  - a. Kelly's updates/comments no report
  - b. SNS/HFIR facility/instrument updates (Division directors)
    - i. Paul Langan (Biology and Soft Matter) no report
    - ii. Steve Nagler (Quantum Condensed Matter) no report
    - iii. Mike Simonson (Chemical and Engineering Materials) no report
    - iv. Thomas Proffen (Neutron Data Analysis and Visualization).

Automatic data reduction infrastructure is in place for all SNS instruments. Data streaming enabled on VISION.

c. User office updates (Al/Laura)

Final reported user numbers to BES: SNS had 726 unique users. HFIR had 395 unique users. 650 proposals submitted in call 14A, 50% acceptance rate. 400% oversubscription

# 6. New Business (Tyrel)

Next telecon date: December 6, 2013 1:00 pm EST.

To connect to the conference call:

- \* You must use a touch-tone phone to participate in an Instant Meeting Conference.
- \* Dial the appropriate access number 866-581-7728
- \* Enter numeric passcode 2748660 followed by a "#"