December 22nd, 2008 SHUG Executive Committee Conference Call:

Members present

Igor Zaliznyak (Chair) – BNL Mike Crawford (Chair Elect) – DuPont Mark Dadmun – University of Tennessee Li (Emily) Liu – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Leonard Spicer – Duke University Al Ekkebus (ex officio) – Johns Hopkins University (at ORNL)

1. The first item on the agenda was reviewing and approving the election results of the new members of the Executive Committee. They will replace David Londono (DuPont), Despina Louca (U. Virginia), Janna Maranas (Penn State), Leonard Spicer (Duke University), Ersan Ustundag (Iowa State University) and Andrei Savici (Johns Hopkins University – Postdoc member), whose term expires at the end of this year (2008). The current EC Chair, Igor Zaliznyak (BNL), will remain as an ex-officio member of the Committee during the term following his tenure and will replace in this capacity the current EC past Chair Despina Louca.

The vote results were obtained from the ORNL web interface via Al Ekkebus and forwarded to the Committee members by Igor Zaliznyak in preparation for the Conference call. They are attached as an appendix to these minutes. Despina Louca (EC past Chair) has communicated her opinion by email. She suggested sticking with the candidates who got most votes, as they seem to be adequately diverse and represent various subfields of the neutron science. The present members of the Committee supported this proposal, therefore confirming the election of M. Stone (ORNL), P. Woodward (Ohio State University), S.-H. Lee (U. Virginia), U. Salaz-Perez (University of Missouri – Columbia) and C. Lind (The University of Toledo) as regular members of the SHUG Executive Committee and S. Wilson (University of California-Berkley) as a Postdoc EC member.

- I. Zaliznyak will contact the newly elected Committee members, in particular requesting information for the SHUG EC web. He will also send emails to candidates that were not elected, thanking them for their effort.
- 2. Second item on the agenda was discussing the National Users Facilities Organization (NUFO) contact list. The current draft of this list (attached at the end of these minutes) includes SHUG EC members, as it was agreed in the previous conference call, and a number of prominent individuals who have agreed to participate in NUFO activities. Some former SHUG EC members who are

included in this draft list have not responded indicating their (un) willingness to engage with NUFO. The consensus reached by the participating EC members was that Igor Zaliznyak will contact them again and that non-responders who are not the current EC members will be removed from the list.

- 3. Al Ekkebus has thanked EC members for their service and made several concluding announcements. In particular,
 - Reminded that ORNL call for experiment proposals is in place and the deadline is January 5, 2009 and encouraged EC members to submit proposals.
 - Informed that members of the SHUG EC will be invited to the DOE review of the ORNL Neutron Sciences Division (lead by P. Montano). I. Zaliznyak will mention this in the letters to the newly elected EC members.

Vote results for new SHUG EC members ordered by votes

#	Regular members	Nominated by	Science field	Votes
1	Stone	Zaliznyak	Hard CMP	84
2	Woodward	Crawford	Hard CMP/Sol. St. Chem.	81
3	Lee	Zaliznyak	Hard CMP	72
4	Salas-Perez	Louca, Montfrooij	Soft CMP	71
5	Lind	Ekkebus	Hard CMP/Sol. St. Chem.	68
6	Majewski	Miller, Watkins	Soft CMP/Bio/Refl	63
7	Murthy	Meilleur	Soft CMP/Bio(?)/SANS	51
8	Clausen	Üstündag	Engineering/Materials	51
9	Vajk	Montfrooij	Hard CMP	49
10	Bu	Callaway	Soft CMP/Bio	43
11	Xu	Shapiro	Hard CMP	43
12	Kintzel	Zaliznyak	Soft CMP	39
13	Penumadu	Hubbard	Engineering/Materials	38
14	Rosevear	Spicer	Soft CMP/Bio	25
	Postdoc/student			
1	Wilson	Zaliznyak	Hard CMP	106
2	Zhang	Self	Soft CMP	48

Vote results for new SHUG EC members ordered by votes in subdisciplinary areas

#	Regular members	Nominated by	Science field	Votes
1	Stone	Zaliznyak	Hard CMP	84
2	Lee	Zaliznyak	Hard CMP	72
3	Vajk	Montfrooij	Hard CMP	49
4	Xu	Shapiro	Hard CMP	43

5	Woodward	Crawford	Hard CMP/Sol. St. Chem.	81
6	Lind	Ekkebus	Hard CMP/Sol. St. Chem.	68
7	Salas-Perez	Louca, Montfrooij	Soft CMP	71
8	Majewski	Miller, Watkins	Soft CMP/Bio/Refl	63
9	Murthy	Meilleur	Soft CMP/Bio(?)/SANS	51
10	Bu	Callaway	Soft CMP/Bio	43
11	Kintzel	Zaliznyak	Soft CMP	39
12	Rosevear	Spicer	Soft CMP/Bio	25
13	Clausen	Üstündag	Engineering/Materials	51
14	Penumadu	Hubbard	Engineering/Materials	38
	Postdoc/student			
1	Wilson	Zaliznyak	Hard CMP	106
2	Zhang	Self	Soft CMP	48

Michael	Crawford	Michael.K.Crawford@usa.dupont.com	DuPont Co., Central Research and Developm	ent DE
Mark	Dadmun	dad@utk.edu	865 974 6582 University of Tennessee	TN
Emily	Liu	liue@rpi.edu	518 276 3765 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute	NY
David	Londono	j-david.londono@usa.dupont.com	DuPont Co., Central Research and Developm	ent DE
Despina	Louca	dl4f@virginia.edu	434 924 6802 University of Virginia	VA
Janna	Maranas	jmaranas@engr.psu.edu	814 863 6228 Penn State	PA
Flora	Meilleur	flora_meilleur@ncsu.edu	North Carolina State University	NC
Len	Spicer	spicer@biochem.duke.edu	919 684 4327 Duke University	NC
Ersan	Üstündag	ustundag@iastate.edu	515 294 9678 lowa State University	IA
lgor	Zaliznyak	zaliznyak@bnl.gov	631 344 3761 Brookhaven National Laboratory	NY
Collin	Broholm	broholm@jhu.edu	410 516 7840 Johns Hopkins Univ.	MD
Brent	Fultz	btf@caltech.edu	626 796 4923 California Institute of Technology	CA
Stephen	Nagler	naglerse@ornl.gov	865 574 5240 ORNL	TN
Angus	Wilkinson	angus.wilkinson@chemistry.gatech.ed	u 404 894 4036 Georgia Tech	GA
John	Tranquada	jtran@bnl.gov	631 344 7547 Brookhaven National Laboratory	NY
Meigan	Aronson	maronson@bnl.gov	BNL/SUNY Stony Brook	NY
Edward	Kintzel	edward.kintzel@wku.edu	270 745 6200 Western Kentucky University	KY
Chris	Wiebe	cwiebe@magnet.fsu.edu	850 644 3645 National High Magnetic Field Laboratory	FL
Patrick	Woodward	Woodward@chemistry.ohio-state.edu	614 688 8274 Ohio State University	OH
Scott	Misture	misture@alfred.edu	607 871 2438 Alfred University, NYS College of Ceramics	NY
Wouter	Montfrooij	montfrooijw@missouri.edu	573 882 8362 University of Missour	MO
Robert	McQueeney	mcqueeney@ameslab.gov	Iowa State University	IA
Young	Lee	younglee@mit.edu	617 253 7834 Massachusets Institute of Technology	MA