Neutron scientist Bryan Chakoumakos was one of seven researchers at the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory to have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The AAAS is the world’s largest multidisciplinary scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals. The AAAS Council elects fellows whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Chakoumakos, lead of the Structure of Matter Group in the Quantum Condensed Matter Division, was nominated by the AAAS section on geology and geography for “outstanding contributions to the physical, chemical, earth and materials sciences through the application of the techniques of neutron and X-ray diffraction and materials synthesis.”

Chakoumakos studies structure property relationships in technological and natural materials and the synthesis, crystal growth and characterization of novel materials. He is a fellow of the American Crystallographic Association and the Mineralogical Society of American, and a scientific director of the National School on Neutron and X-Ray Scattering, an educational program for graduate student researchers run by ORNL and Argonne National Laboratory.

+ Read about the other ORNL AAAS fellows